Since the election, I’ve been thinking about algorithmic feeds again. This isn’t a new issue: it’s the filter bubble dilemma all over again, just after a disturbing wake-up call involving propaganda, disinformation, and hate groups that are more empowered than ever before. Proprietary networks are always going to reward people for posting media directly, rather than linking from a competitor or, god forbid, a self-published site.

I write on my main blog for my own enjoyment. I don’t care if that stuff doesn’t get seen. I’m on social networks for the connections to people close and far. I don’t want to lose that by self-publishing. But now that algorithmic content feeds have proven to have a devastating effect on the mass consciousness, I’m no longer comfortable committing anything of consequence to places like Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. I’m going back to microblogging – I’ll post stuff I want to share about here, and will link to it on the proprietary networks. Yes, algorithms will give it a lower priority. I’d rather have that happen throw more fuel into an immoral machine.

(If we’re connected on Facebook or Twitter, you can modify your settings for how you follow me to prioritize me or deliver notifications for my posts)

Published by

Zeke Weeks

I'm crazy about the web – It's the biggest thing to happen to freedom and opportunity since the Gutenberg Press. My passion is the combined disciplines of business strategy, product design, and web application development (most often with open, community-driven projects like WordPress or Drupal).